Small Inductive Coil and 10 Wireless LED Kit - 5V (ADA5140)

This is a placeholder topic for “Small Inductive Coil and 10 Wireless LED Kit - 5V” comments.

Adding LEDs to anything makes it 5x better – it's a scientific fact! But when you have LEDs, you've got wires and power supplies and all that…

Read more

Hi there,

I have one of these that I am wanting to turn into something similar to a magnifying glass for a treasure hunt activity where you need to locate all the hidden LED lights!

I’m very new to this and don’t want to ruin my prototype - I was going to make a magnifying shape out of polymorph beads and form them by hand around a usb power source.
Can I encase the whole thing in polymorph or does at least one side of the copper circle need to be open to the air still?

What can be the maximum distance between the coil and the LEDs?

Hi Rooppoor
The text doesn’t say but it does have this little snippet
“You can also have the LEDs slightly outside the main ring, but, again, they’ll not light up as bright as if they’re right in the center.”
Which implies that the answer to your question is “not far” if the LEDs are outside.
Also does not indicate what power (Watts or Amps) is required although the thicker red and black wires might be a clue.
Cheers Bob

1 Like

Hi Bob and @Rooppoor212784

I’ve done a quick bench test to check the range on the LEDs and their power draw. My bench supply was giving out 5V@0.06A which increased to 0.07A when I dropped the metal ruler alongside the coil.

I’ve included some photos showing the LEDs as I dragged them away from the coil. It is important to note the orientation of the LED has a large impact on if the LED will be lit as LEDs oriented perpendicular to the magnetic field won’t induce any current in their coil.
There was a very slight bend in the coil so LEDs lying on their side were still able to draw power, if I flattened the coil all LEDs on their side went out completely.

1 Like

Hi Trent